Going for the LAFF (Live Action Fan Fiction), starts Thu May 6

Sale price Price $120.00 Regular price Unit price  per 

4 CLASSES OF 2 HOURS

THURSDAYS MAY 6, 13, 20, 27

  • 5:30pm to 7:30pm (Vancouver / LA)
  • 8:30pm to 10:30pm (Toronto / NYC)
  • [FRIDAYS] 8:30am to 10:30am (Manila)
  • [FRIDAYS] 11:30am to 1:30pm (Melbourne)
  • [FRIDAYS] 1:30pm to 3:30pm (Auckland)

PRICE IN CDN DOLLARS, ALL TAXES INCL.

DESCRIPTION

There is fiction for all tastes on streaming services, podcasts, books and beyond. Maybe you’ve binge watched your favourite show for the third time, and you want to create an improvised version with all new storylines. You dream of playing in that world so badly. But where do you start?

Join Velvet to talk about producing logistics -- the joys of planning, casting, delegating,… and managing expectations. We’ll discuss ways to find new fun within your favourite source material, without losing the audience. By the end of the workshop series, you’ll be ready to turn improvised fan fiction into fun fiction!

TEACHER BIO

Velvet Wells is a Black, autistic, queer, velvet-voiced entertainer and facilitator from Toronto, Ontario, Canada. He is a graduate of the Second City Toronto Training Centre (Musical Improvisation Conservatory) and The Improv Place (Masterclass in Teaching). Additionally, Velvet studied under international facilitators including Katy Schutte and Chris Mead, John Gebretatose, Ken Hall, Tara DeFrancisco and Rance Rizzutto, Natasha Boomer, Patti Stiles, and Mick Napier.

Velvet has facilitated in-person workshops for Toronto Theatresports (Toronto), Theatre on the Edge (Waterloo) and Black and Funny Festival (Minneapolis), and in 2020, started offering independent workshops online.

SCHOLARSHIPS / PAY-IT-FORWARD

Two scholarship spots are reserved in each class at Improv College for members of equity-seeking communities on a first-come, first-served basis. To claim a spot in this class, simply select the Equity-Seeking registration option. You may also choose to support others by purchasing a Pay-It-Forward registration for a scholarship student.